hex publishes very short speculative texts on a weekly-ish basis. We like it weird. Submit here

hex started in 2022 and is based at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, MA.  

We are on Bluesky, Twitter/X, and Instagram @hexliterary.

Awards and Honors

Two Joy Odes by william erickson are featured on Poetry Daily.

“Spin Cycle” by Judith Ohikuare is in Best Microfiction 2024.

“Yarnidermis” by Ruby Rorty is in Best Microfiction 2024.

“My Uncle Lived in the Future” by Parth Shah is in Best Microfiction 2023.

“Does the Pig?” by Nick Story is in Best Small Fictions 2023.

“The Shack” by DW McKinney is longlisted for the Wigleaf Top 50 2023.

“The Woman We Called Vulture” by Jen Julian is longlisted for the Wigleaf Top 50 2023.

“The Lake of My Youth” by Aaron Burch is longlisted for the Wigleaf Top 50 2023.

Our Staff


Kate McIntyre is a past managing editor of the Missouri Review and past editor of the Worcester Review. She is the author of Mad Prairie (UGA Press 2021), a linked story collection that won the Flannery O’Connor Award. She is an assistant professor at WPI. Website: katemcintyrewriting.com Twitter: @_katemcintyre  

Joe Aguilar is the author of Half Out Where (Caketrain). His writing is in Conjunctions, Strange Horizons and Pleiades. He’s an assistant professor of teaching at WPI. Website: joe-aguilar.com

Daniel Miller teaches English at Central Methodist University. He previously served as Audio Editor for the Missouri Review and read submissions for PANK. His fiction has appeared on Conjunctions, Heavy Feather Review, and Puerto del Sol. Twitter: @DanTheDadBodGod

Contributing editor:

Michelle Ephraim is the author of Reading the Jewish Woman on the Elizabethan Stage (Routledge 2008), Shakespeare, Not Stirred (Penguin/Scribe 2015), and Green World (2023 Juniper Prize for Creative Nonfiction). A professor at WPI, she teaches courses in literature, creative nonfiction, and speculative fiction writing. Website: michelleephraim.com Twitter: @ProfessorMKE

Associate editors:

Jenna Bushika

Kristina Derrivan

Marcel Guzik

Sara Hancock

Benjamin Hayden

Iain McEwen

Tionge Nakazwe

Kaelin Panneton

Sage Ugras

Meg Urakawa

Jessica Vo

Website design by Jim Monaco